Merri-bek Award winners shine (Media release)

With daylight savings already brightening things up, Merri-bek City Council proudly recognised the glowing talents and achievements of its citizens at a special ceremony last night at the Coburg Town Hall.

Moreland Mayor Cr Helen Davidson said the Merri-bek Awards honour both individuals and groups who have worked towards enriching community life in Merri-bek.

“Moreland is made up of outstanding people who are involved in the community in so many different ways – through inspiring sporting clubs, environmental groups, multicultural groups, local charities, and many other initiatives,” said Cr Davidson.

“From our youngest winners this year, who made $4,382.85 – selling lemonade to raise money for refugees – to the many other award winners, across categories, the Merri-bek Awards celebrate those making Merri-bek shine.”

Tamar Hopkins, winner of the Mike Hill Sustainability Achievement Award, is dedicated to planting trees and grasses along Merri-bek’s train and bike corridors.

On winning the award Tamar said, “The acknowledgement means Council supports the growing community of people in Merri-bek working to create shade forests, food forests and animal habitat – wherever it’s possible.

“It’s about the community getting together to create the shady, beautiful spaces we need as our world grows hotter.

“The project started out of my daily commute for the last 12 years along the Upfield bike path. It’s been my dream that the spaces were filled with shady trees and not bottles and rubbish,” said Tamar.

Get involved in the Upfield Urban Forest by visiting, or find the group on Facebook.

Visit the Moreland Awards to find out more.

Many nominations across 9 categories were received and we congratulate all of the nominees and recipients of the 2017 Merri-bek Awards:

Mayor’s Police Leadership

Senior Sergeant Troy Papworth (winner) and Senior Constable Nicole Porter (high commendation)

Collaborative Partnerships

Mandy Gosetti for ‘I’m Still Learning’

Contribution to Arts and Culture

Lesley Francis and Patrick Francis

Contribution to Sport

Graeme Kennedy

Youth Contribution

Dot Norbury and Flowers O’Rourke

Community Event of the Year

The Rainbow Procession (winner) and Active Week 2017 (high commendation)

Mike Hill Sustainability Achievement Award

Tamar Hopkins (winner) and Vince Corbett (high commendation)

Lisa Bellear Award for Contribution to Reconciliation Activities

Dr Sue Lopez Atkinson and Coburg Primary School (joint winners)

Volunteer of the Year

Mark Sanders


4 October 2017